professornana (professornana) wrote,
professornana
professornana

  • Location:
  • Mood:

if you go out in the woods today




WILDWOOD by Colin Meloy with illustrations by Carson Ellis (Balzer and Bray 2011) takes readers on a perilous journey with Prue McKeel into the Impassable Wilderness, the dark woods at the edge of her neighborhood. Prue does not intend to venture into the woods, but when her younger brother is kidnapped by a flock of crows (a MURDER of crows), she knows she must find him. Prue and her friend Curtis could never have anticipated what awaits them in the dense and dark tumble of woods and brush and vines. There they will meet soldier coyotes who protect an insane Dowager who intends to sacrifice Prue's brother to regain power. There are assorted bandits, a meditative group who listens to the woods to know what is afoot, and an aviary army. WILDWOOD is a book that weaves classic elements of fantasy with contemporary issues and characters. Readers who loved A TALE DARK AND GRIMM and LEISL AND PO and BREADCRUMBS will want to add this book to their stack. <667>
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 0 comments