Log in

No account? Create an account
15 August 2011 @ 08:47 am
love reading? free books  
Call for 2012 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Selection Committee Members

Those interested in serving on the ALAN Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Committee may self-nominate by completing a self-nomination form. Members of the selection committee must be: 1) ALAN members and 2) classroom teachers, university professors, or librarians. To avoid potential conflicts of interest, authors and publishers are not eligible to apply.

To participate in the selection of the 2012 winner, please send completed self-nomination forms to Ricki Ginsberg (rickiginsberg@gmail.com), the 2012 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Committee Chair, by September 15, 2011. For more information about the award and to download the self-nomination form, please visit ALAN Online (http://www.alan-ya.org).

Service on the committee requires a commitment to reading a wide range of YA fiction and consulting with other committee members. All of the committee work is done in an online forum. Access to the internet is essential. Ability to read critically is also important. It is expected that deadlines be met and that all committee members are active discussants during the process.

The Committee Chair, striving for wide representation of members in terms of professional position, grade level of population served, and geographic diversity, will extend an invitation to potential committee members who show an interest in serving. Those selected will serve for one year with the possibility of reappointment.