professornana (professornana) wrote,

Hans Christian Andersen winners

Winners of the 2010 Hans Christian Andersen Award Announced

David Almond, British writer of magical realism in tales such as Skellig and Clay, was named the recipient of the 2010 Hans Christian Andersen Author award. The jury noted that "Almond captures his young readers´ imagination and motivates them to read, think and be critical."

Jutta Bauer from Germany is the winner of the 2010 Hans Christian Andersen Illustrator Award. In making the announcement, the jury commented on her "philosophical approach, originality, creativity as well as her ability to communicate with young readers." For more information, please visit the IBBY web site.

About Andersen 2010: Zohreh Ghaeni, the president of 2010 Hans Christian Andersen Award Jury, has created a resource within the IBBY website that provides information about the 2010 Hans Christian Andersen Award candidates. Thirty-two IBBY National Sections have nominated 28 writers and 27 illustrators for the 2010 Andersen Award. Their photos, book titles and covers, as well as illustrations from the artists’ books are available. This is an outstanding resource for anyone interested in international books for young people.

For more information on international children's books, visit
  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.