professornana (professornana) wrote,
professornana
professornana

  • Mood:

one last book before the feeding frenzy



Stephanie's uncle Gordon was an author. After his death, Stephanie is surprised to learn Gordon had a few secrets. As she is roaming through Gordon's house, she meets Skulduggery Pleasant, a skeleton detective, who warns Stephanie that her life may be in danger. Run-ins with all types of villains abound: vampires, friends who are turncoats, and someone named China Sorrows. Action is non-stop as Skulduggery and Pleasant try to find the Scepter before the evil Serpine can use it to destroy all that is good in the world.

Though I think the main character's age is somewhat youngish (she is 12 but comes across as much older), this is the only quibble I have with this action/adventure/detective/quest/comedy. Author Derek Landy keeps his tongue sharp and tucked in his cheek (carefully, I hope). The repartee between Skulduggery and Stephanie is rapid fire (think Moonlighting with Cybill Shepherd and Bruce Willis but without the sexual tension). Fans of both Potter, Bartimaeus, and Artemis Fowl will love this book which cries for many sequels.
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 1 comment