professornana (professornana) wrote,
professornana
professornana

not safe, not sound



In her latest novel, Susan Shaw creates another memorable story of a teen in crisis. As SAFE opens, Tracey and her fried Caroline part company on their block, each heading into her own home. However, before Tracey can find the safety of home, an orange car pulls up on the curb. Tracey is grabbed and thrown into the car. Later, an indeterminate time later, she is thrown from the trunk of that same orange car. She should be dead, but she is not. In the hospital, Tracey is able to tell what has happened and who kidnapped and raped her.

Will Tracey be able to survive this assault on her? How will her father and her friends react? Will she ever feel safe again? Certainly some of this territory is familiar. However, Shaw creates an unfamiliar landscape that Tracey has to traverse, one that will leave readers wondering about Tracey's safety until the novel comes to a startling conclusion. Center stage in Tracey's story is a lovely poem by Eileen Spinelli, friends who refuse to let go, and the miraculous power of music to heal.

Fans of THE BOY IN THE BASEMENT and BLACK EYED SUZIE will not be disappointed.
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 0 comments